Born to Help

by

If I have been of service, if I have glimpsed more of the nature and essence of ultimate good, if I am inspired to reach wider horizons of thought and action, if I am at peace with myself, it has been a successful day. –Alex Noble

Fact of the Day:
What is the essence of human nature? Flawed, say many theologians. Vicious and addicted to warfare, wrote Hobbes. Selfish and in need of considerable improvement, think many parents. But biologists are beginning to form a generally sunnier view of humankind. The somewhat surprising answer at which some biologists have arrived is that babies are innately sociable and helpful to others. This New York Times article offers more details on their findings and also explores suggested parenting systems that best leverage this inborn impulse. [ more ]

Be The Change:
Reinforce our instinctual desire to help others by doing one random act of kindness a day.

Tags: , , , ,

5 Responses to “Born to Help”

  1. celestehill59 Says:

    I beleive this is why we are here…to serve! Let’s share stories of random acts of kindness…I know they are out there!

  2. Gini Says:

    To be fully present to another, to listen with open ears and heart, without judgment, is one of the kindest gifts I know how to give. Consequently, it is a joy, albeit occasionally not always an easy one, to visit my 88 year old aunt every other week, a nearly 2 hour drive, and to give the same gift of presence to her fellow residents in the assisted living center where she lives. It brings such pleasure to their faces and warmth to their moments.

  3. Debbie Priest Says:

    went to the park blocks in Portland to hang with the homeless….met the most fascinating people and the life stories that were shared I will never forget. Came back later with a friend and two large pizzas to share. Best day ever!

  4. Marlene Asha Says:

    I have loved service since I was young. For some reason I am called to give. I went into occupational therapy because of this I think. Over the past weekend I attended a walkathon called Sevathon to raise money for services that support people in need, especially East Indians. It was sweet and wonderful to share energy with folks of all ages dedicated to giving to others. I feel nourished when I serve others.

    • celestehill59 Says:

      I know! To me it is in the act of “service” that I get the reward. There is nothing more than I need, but to be in the moment, in the “act” . It is like prayer or meditation- there is no more “me” or “mine” just the “act” on Oneness.

Leave a comment